Carpenter Performing Arts Center

Shakespeare Aloud:

On designated Saturdays each month, Shakespeare Aloud will host a FREE reading of one of Shakespeare’s plays. Community members are warmly invited to participate as readers (no experience or audition required) or as audience members.

 

How it works:

Readings begin at 1:00pm. Character names will be available; whoever wants to read out loud can choose a character. Anyone who wants to read along silently is also welcome.

Everyone is welcome! All voice, all dialects. Shakespeare Aloud is intended to be a fun exploration of Shakespeare, so bring your sense of humor!

 

Location: NEW!

Shakespeare Aloud readings are presented in collaboration with the Los Altos Neighborhood Library and are held at:

Los Altos Neighborhood Library

5614 East Britton Drive

Long Beach, CA 90815

 

Free parking is available on the street or in the parking lot behind Lazy Acres

Time: 1:00pm-3:00pm

 

 

 

 

Schedule

 

SHAKESPEARE ALOUD HAS BEEN CANCELED THROUGH MAY 1. Learn more ›

Merry Wives of Windsor- 1st half

Dec. 7 at 1PM

 

Merry Wives of Windsor - 2nd half

Dec. 21 at 1PM

 

Midsummer Night’s Dream

Jan. 4, 2020 – entire play

 

Much Ado About Nothing

Sat, Feb 1, 2020 – 1st half

Sat, Feb 22, 2020 – 2nd half

 

Othello

Sat, Mar 7, 2020 – 1st half

Sat, Mar 21, 2020 – 2nd half

 

Pericles

Sat, Apr 4, 2020 – 1st half

Sat, Apr 18, 2020 – 2nd half

 

Richard II

Sat, May 2, 2020 – 1st half

Sat, May 16, 2020 – 2nd half

 

Richard III

Sat, June 6, 2020 – 1st half

Sat, June 20, 2020 – 2nd half

 

 

Shakespeare Aloud is provided in collaboration with the Long Beach Public Library 

 

    

 

William Shakespeare

Arts For Life Season